Erie Leaders Sworn In As New Member of Governor’s Advisory Commission on African American Affairs

Earlier this week, Curtis Jones, Jr. from the Erie Regional Chamber and Growth Partnership and Cathryn Easterling, Vice President of Community Development Market Manager, were appointed to the Governor’s Advisory Commission on African American Affairs.

“We’re always pleased to see Erie represented at the table for important conversations and initiatives across the Commonwealth,” said James Grunke, president and CEO of the Erie Regional Chamber. “Curtis and Cathryn will undoubtedly represent our community well and will ensure our community is doing all we can to effect positive change aligned with the Commission’s initiatives.”

The full press release from the Governor’s Advisory Commission on African American Affairs is available below.

Harrisburg, Pa – Today, the Governor’s Advisory Commission on African American Affairs hosted a swearing-in ceremony for 23 new members. The Commission’s purpose is to gather information regarding African American Pennsylvanians’ experiences and needs; review, evaluate, and assess programs affecting them; provide the Governor with information and recommendations regarding how best to meet their needs; and serve as a liaison from the Governor’s office to the community, providing information about programs and services that may be relevant to the needs of African American Pennsylvanians. The Commission was established by Governor Josh Shapiro through an Executive Order.

“I am happy to work alongside the new Commissioners to address the needs of African American communities in Pennsylvania,” said Executive Director Anette Nance. “The Governor’s Advisory Commission on African American Affairs is focused on intentional work, educating and connecting the African American community to state agencies. Together, we will help ensure that all Pennsylvanians have a seat at the table and ensure they see themselves reflected in state government.”

The Commission Chair, Vice Chair, and members are listed below.
Andréa Stanford of Allegheny County, Chair 
Christa Caceres of Munroe County, Vice Chair 
Chioma Azi of Philadelphia County, Commissioner 
Dr. Hassan Batts of Lehigh County, Commissioner 
Rev. Dr. Malcolm Byrd of Philadelphia, Commissioner 
Martell Covington of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Cathryn Easterling of Erie County, Commissioner 
Daren Ellerbee of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Leola Hardy, Esq of Montgomery County, Commissioner 
Nasaiah Hoskins of Munroe County, Commissioner 
Curtis Jones of Erie County, Commissioner 
Alexandra Jones of Beaver County, Commissioner 
Michael Laws of Lehigh County, Commissioner 
Taneise Marshall of Bucks County, Commissioner 
Shaunda McDill of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Dr. Brittany McDonald of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
K. Chase Patterson of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Rev. Michael Robinson of Philadelphia County, Commissioner 
Haniyyah Sharpe-Brown of Philadelphia County, Commissioner 
LaTrenda Sherill of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Patriece Thompson of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Derrick Tillman of Allegheny County, Commissioner 
Jacque Whambush of Philadelphia  County, Commissioner 

To learn more about the Governor’s Advisory Commission on African American Affairs, follow the Commission on Instagram.

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *